• User Name
  • Password
  • Remember Me
01 Dec 2021, 18:34 HRS IST
  • PTI
  • Syed Mushtaq Ali: Akshay Wadkar to lead Vidarbha; Umesh in squad

  • Advertisement
  •  Share
  • Print Print
  •  E-mail
  • Comments Comment
  • [ - ] Text [ + ]
17:35 HRS IST

Nagpur, Oct 22 (PTI) Wicketkeeper batsman Akshay Wadkar will lead a 20-member Vidarbha squad, which includes senior India pacer Umesh Yadav, in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy, starting on November 4.

The Vidarbha Cricket Association has posted the squad on its website

Siddhesh Wath has been named Wadkar's deputy

Umesh, who will lead the pace attack, has represented India in 49 Tests and 75 ODIs and has 98 first-class matches under his belt

Other pacers in the team include right-armer Darshan Nalkande and 22-year-old fast bowler Yash Thakur

Vidarbha selectors have also included batting mainstays in Ganesh Satish and opener R Sanjay, who has been impressive in the previous seasons

Experienced off-spinner Akshay Wakhare has also been named in the side

Vidarbha, who are placed in the Plate Group, will be playing all their league matches in Vijayawada

Squad: Akshay Wadkar (captain), Siddhesh Wath (vice-captain), Atharva Taide, R Sanjay, Ganesh Satish, Yash Rathod, Jitesh Sharma, Apoorva Wankhede, Shubham Dubey, Akshay Karnewar, Akshay Wakhare, Harsh Dubey, Parth Rekhade, Ganesh Bhosale, Darshan Nalkande, Yash Thakur, Siddesh Neral, Aditya Thakre, Sooraj Rai and Umesh Yadav. Coach: Pritam Gandhe.

  • Post your comments